Please disable Ad Blocker before you can visit the website !!!
ads
View : 245 Click : 0

A Guide On the Different Types Of Grains

by Jakob Weber   ·  7 months ago  
thumbnail

We all are less aware that different types of grains have distinct health advantages, flavors, and textures. Although there are many healthy grains with numerous nutritional benefits, knowing a variety of grains—even if they aren’t all the healthiest—can help you add diversity to your go-to foods. Learn and get information at Grainwise.

There are dozens of additional grains that serve as a fantastic basis for meats, veggies, sauces, and more, in addition to the conventional, beyond-popular sorts of grains like wheat, white rice, and cornmeal. Although whole grains are delicious, especially in bread, many grains can be eaten whole, cracked, or crushed.

  • Barley

The grains of barley are lightly golden and compact. Whole or hulled barley is preferred; pearled barley is not whole grain. Barley is a high-fiber meal that lowers cholesterol, lowers the risk of heart disease, prevents type 2 diabetes, and aids regularity.

  • Farro

Farro, also known as emmer wheat, is an heirloom wheat variety most commonly imported from Italy and marketed pearled (which cooks rapidly) rather than hulled (which takes longer to cook) (whole). Look for the whole farro for the most health benefits. Farro is gluten-free and readily digestible, and it’s high in fiber, protein, and vitamins A, B, C, and E. For a quick dinner, top farro with a poached egg and wilted greens.

Grainwise

  • Freekeh

Freekeh is a dried and roasted green wheat that is usually offered whole or cracked. Make tabbouleh with freekeh or stuff roasts with it.

  • Kamut

Kamut is a big heritage wheat type. Kamut should be cooked in a thick stew to keep its form.

  • Oats

Oats are little grains that can be rolled into flakes or chopped into small pieces with a steel cutter. Gluten-free oats are available; check the box to see if it is gluten-free before eating. Cooked oats can be topped with seasonal fruit or rolled oats can be used in baked dishes.

  • Quinoa

Quinoa seeds are small, round seeds that can be red, white, or black in color. Quinoa does not contain gluten. Quinoa (pronounced keen-wah) is a herbaceous plant that cooks like a grain. Quinoa contains all nine necessary amino acids, making it a complete protein. It’s also high in magnesium, which helps to prevent osteoporosis. Cook quinoa in equal parts with rolled oats for a protein-rich breakfast porridge, or use cooked quinoa to add protein and structure to muffins and cakes.

  • Rice

Brown, red, or black rice are all types of whole grain rice. Rice does not contain gluten. Serve rice with roasted meats and veggies or a stir-fry.

  • Wild Rice

Wild rice is made up of the long, black seeds of a rice-like plant. Gluten-free wild rice is available. To make a layered side dish, combine wild rice with other rice or roasted veggies.

Bev Johnson